Sign In

Welcome from the Director

Welcome to the Weigand Trust website! Whether you are a prospective applicant, a valued member of our alumni family, part of the national or local legal community, or someone simply interested in the essence of the Weigand Trust, we’re glad you stopped by.  I encourage you to explore our site, get to know our current and former scholars, and contact me to get any additional information you desire.

As the Trust’s Director, I am honored to facilitate this dynamic and ground-breaking legal foundation as we shape the State of Kansas’ legal community. Since its inception in 2004, the Trust has provided support in a variety of ways to the best Kansas law students.  Today, we’re fortunate to have a rich treasure chest of alumni leading the way in developing a family-like network of excellence and opportunities.

Each year, we strive to add value to what our organization offers, for the betterment of our scholars and, ultimately, the citizens of Kansas.  After reviewing this site, I think you’ll agree that it’s exciting to see what happens when you bring the best legal minds in Kansas together! 

Claudette Glenn

Current Students

Katie Jo Baumgardner  3L, Notre Dame

"The generosity of Mr. Weigand's gift is overwhelming, and I am so grateful to have been chosen as a Weigand Scholar. The Weigand Trust is more than just a scholarship; ....

link-arrow.pngRead More

Erica Bennett McCabe 1L, University of Kansas

"I am humbled by the generosity of Mr. Weigand, and I am honored to join the ranks of such a talented group of students and practitioners.   . . . 

link-arrow.pngRead More 

Nathaniel Martens 2L, Washburn

"With the creation of the J.L. Weigand Legal Education Trust, Mr. Weigand demonstrated his generosity and commitment to forever strengthening the Kansas legal community . . . 

link-arrow.pngRead More

Robert Liam Reilly 1L, Notre Dame

"The opportunities afforded by the J.L. Weigand Trust are unrivaled and extremely generous.  The network of established Weigand alumni is an invaluable resource during and after law school. . . . .

link-arrow.pngRead More 

Matthew Schippers 2L, University of Kansas

"As a descendent of generations of Kansans, I am truly blessed and honored to join the Weigand Trust family. I thank J.L. Weigand, Jr. for his magnanimity in forming a legal legacy ...

link-arrow.pngRead More 

Featured Alumni

News Center

Announcing the Newest Weigands!

Weigand Trust Celebrates Eleventh Annual Open House

The J.L. Weigand Trust hosted its eleventh annual Open House at the Eldridge Hotel in Lawrence, Kansas, on March 7.  Stephen Mazza, Professor and Dean of KU School of Law, shared master of ceremonies duties with Weigand alumnus, Ivery Goldstein (KU ’06)…

link-arrow.pngRead More

Schippers comment to be published

Congratulations to current student Matthew Schippers, 2L at KU!  His comment, The Debt versus Equity Debacle: A Proposal for Federal Tax Treatment of Cash Advances, will be published in the Kansas Law Journal.

link-arrow.pngRead More

Finalists announced for 2015-2016 School Year

Congratulations to the following students for being selected as finalists for the 12th class of Weigand Scholars!   Sarah McMillan BeckmanLauren StanleyChris HeltKyle CalvinBobby Chipman Good luck to each of you!   Finalists will be interviewed March …

link-arrow.pngRead More